Another Christmas in Norway


1538895_10151880521101936_1447023292_nIt was my second Christmas in Norway at my in-laws’ farm house. This time, it was less crowded because my niece and nephew spent the holiday at their other grandparents’. Neither the ship head (the traditional Norwegian food on Christmas), nor the snow.

The absence of snow this winter appears to be so strange to me. I even experienced Oslo at 6 Celsius degree in the last week of December. While snow falls in Sahara, the northern world wonders why the snow doesn’t make a visit to their hemisphere. This climate has reminds me with one article I read from COP 10, about the exchange of climate as the forced of extreme energy from the two opposite hemispheres (the north and south): the northern will be warmer, and the south will experience some cold.

Anyway…

Despite all of the above, my Christmas in Norway had been relaxing. After learning to not be so overworry, I didn’t have to check works and completely enjoyed sitting by the burning firewoods, and sleeping. Christmas in Norway for me also means great traditional norwegian foods from my mother in-laws, christmas tree decoration time. Every antique and tradition from Norway that I admit I love it.

1525244_10151880521821936_1002031933_n 1526561_10151880521421936_1803722160_n

Neither me nor my husband and his family are religious. My Norwegian family regards Christmas as a tradition, where relatives visit each other, enjoy the feast, gift giving, and visit the elders’ graveyard without the need to visit the church or pray as Christians do. The vikings, long before Christmas day was agreed to be celebrated every December 25, had already their own version of Christmas named a winter solstice. It is the time when the day started to get brighter and brighter again, beginning from December 21. This being said that many Scandinavian already have a sort of pre-celebration before the 25th of December.

Below are the gifts I got from this Christmas in Norway. I would say they are such useful investments.

1511128_10151887590736936_842940428_n

Oslo this Christmas is always enticing, especially from the consumerism perspective. Lights decorated rows of rows of shops and boutique along Karl Johan street with big signs of sale all over the windows. Yea, it was an after Christmas sale! A must shopping time where I successfully hunted an Aldo leather boots, originally 1,600 NOK-turned-499 NOK, and three pieces of beautiful jet black blazers for not more than 700 NOK. Beautiful!

I didn’t meet my friend in Oslo, but I did went to our favorite sushi place in the city (Aker Brygge): Sushi Sumo, good taste, good price, good value for Norwegian price level = 10 pieces for 110 NOK. (Fyi, in Copenhagen, pay 179 DKK, it’s All-you-can-eat).

IMAG0584

In addition to spending time shopping, I also managed to do some revisits to the University of Oslo, where I used to take classes in 2012, and did sightseeing at some historical buildings, such as the Royal Castle and the Nobel Peace Museum. It eventually always feels good to revisits places which carry strong meanings in my life. The university of Oslo, for example, was one of the first places i had spent my first immigration time in Europe. There, I learned my first Scandinavian language and culture. There, I built my first hope that Scandinavia could probably be a better place for me to re-start my life.

Merry Christmas from Norway 🙂

Leave a Reply

